Bruce G Elmegreen  Bruce G Elmegreen photo         

contact information

Principal Research Staff Member
Thomas J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY USA



Dr. Bruce Elmegreen is Principal Research Staff Member in the Research Division of IBM, currently co-leading the Materials Discovery program in the Future of Climate initiative. He received a Ph.D. in Astrophysics at Princeton University and was a Junior Fellow at Harvard University. He studies star formation and galactic structure and has written over 395 scientific articles. In 2001, he received the Dannie Heineman Prize of the American Astronomical Society (AAS) and the American Physical Society, and in 2016, an IBM Research Outstanding Accomplishment Award for Research in Star Formation. In 2021, he received the Catherine Wolfe Bruce Gold Medal from the Astronomical Society of the Pacific (ASP) for "recognition of his pioneering work on dynamical processes of star formation." He was Chair of the Publications Board of the AAS and is currently a member of the Publications Board of the ASP. From 2015-2018 he was President of the Division on Interstellar Matter and Local Universe and Chair of the Resolutions Board for the International Astronomical Union (IAU), and he was National Representative of the AAS to the IAU. In the field of nanotechnology, Dr. Elmegreen has designed and modeled magnetic materials and devices, phase change material structures, and piezoelectronic devices and circuits, obtaining 20 distinct patents. He was a member of the US National Science Foundation Math and Physical Sciences Advisory Committee from 2012-2016, became a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 2013 and a Fellow of the AAS in 2020. Dr. Elmegreen was raised in Milwaukee and attended the University of Wisconsin in Madison as an undergraduate.





Projects and Groups